Coal Creek mine hike scheduled for Saturday
November 20, 2008
NEW — 1:46 p.m. November 20, 2008
Issaquah History Museums docent, researcher and tour leader Stephen Grate will lead a Coal Creek history program and hike at 1 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 22.
Meet at the Lewis Creek Visitors Center, 5808 Lakemont Blvd. S.E., Bellevue. Register by calling 392-3500 (Issaquah History Museums) or 450-1049 (Eastside Heritage Center). Cost of the hike is free.
Coal mining was the Eastside’s first major industry, producing millions of tons of coal to be shipped from Seattle to San Francisco at the turn of the 20th century. Join Grate for some adventuring into the past and studying the present.
The program begins with a 50-minute photo and geologic history presentation at the Lewis Creek Visitors Center, followed by a hike along the beautiful narrow and wooded trails of Coal Creek Park.
The presentation and hike explore the rich history of coal mining in King County. The Coal Creek mine was the world’s largest in 1908, supporting a town of nearly 450 structures — hotels, stores, a theater, dance hall and a professional baseball field. Today, the town is gone and only some concrete remains along the trails to remind people of the industrial activity that took place at the site.
The presentation uses historical photos to look at activities both above and below ground. The hike visits the major remains of a “company town” that flourished from 1894 to 1934.
The hike is presented by the Eastside Heritage Center and Bellevue Parks & Community Services, in partnership with King County Parks, Issaquah History Museums and the Newcastle Historical Society.
Find out about other upcoming coalmine hikes and heritage programming at www.eastsideheritagecenter.org and www.issaquahhistory.org.